Latvian Folkloristics in the Interwar Period

Ed. Dace Bula

Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia
Folklore Fellows’ Communications 313
Porvoo 2017, 281 pp.
Available at Bookstore Tiedekirja, 30 €


Latvian Folkloristics in the Interwar Period is a contribution by Latvian scholars to the current reflexive trend of folklore studies toward an intense focus on the discipline’s past. It also joins the recent efforts to broaden the geographical scope of folklore history by concentrating on internationally less represented research traditions.

The interwar period in Latvia, as in most European countries, was a formative era during which the patriotic duty of collecting and publishing folklore was transformed into a full-fledged, institutionalised academic discipline. The Archives of Latvian Folklore was established, the University of Latvia began offering courses in folkloristics and ethnography, and Latvian folklorists sought a place in the networks of international cooperation flourishing in Europe at that time.

By offering a broad perspective on Latvian interwar folkloristics, this book covers relevant national and international contexts of folklore research, dominant research paradigms and key personalities in the field.

READ ON-LINE Opening pages


Dace Bula

I Towards a Full-fledged Discipline

Latvian Folklore Studies in Interwar Europe
Dace Bula

Folklore in the National Educational and Cultural Policies
Anita Vaivade

Early History and Work of the Archives of Latvian Folklore
Māra Vīksna

Folklore Study and Research at the University of Latvia
Sanita Reinsone

International Contacts of Latvian Folklorists
Rita Treija

II Research Trends

The Historic-Geographic Method
Rita Treija

Folklore as a Source for History and Ethnography
Sandis Laime and Gatis Ozoliņš

The Literary Approach: The Poetics of Folklore Texts
Baiba Krogzeme–Mosgorda

III Scholars

Anna Bērzkalne (1891—1956)
Rita Treija

Kārlis Straubergs (1890—1962)
Toms Ķencis

Pēteris Šmits (1869—1938)
Guntis Pakalns

Ludis Bērziņš (1870—1965)
Māra Vīksna

Jānis Alberts Jansons (1892—1971)
Gatis Ozoliņš

Arveds Švābe (1888—1959)
Toms Ķencis

Pēteris Birkerts (1881—1956)
Guntis Pakalns

Emilis Melngailis (1874—1954)
Ilze Šarkovska–Liepiņa




Pin It on Pinterest

Share This